England Men’s Squad Named For India Matches; Women Unable To Travel

England’s men have announced their squad for the upcoming FIH Hockey Pro League matches away to India.

Unfortunately, England’s women are unable to travel. Over the weekend, as a result of COVID-19 testing and injuries sustained whilst on club duty, several players and staff have become unable to travel.

With England’s Junior Women’s squad having already travelled to South Africa for their World Cup, plus other existing injuries, England is unable to name a full squad.

We will now liaise with Hockey India and the FIH with regards to options and next steps.

Women’s team captain Hollie Pearne-Webb said: “We are very disappointed not to be able to travel, especially at this late stage, but unfortunately there was no other option with so many unavailable and the younger girls being out in South Africa as well.

The Pro League is very important to us this year and hopefully, these games can be rearranged as soon as possible.”

The men play two matches:

Sat 2 April
India v England 3 pm

Sun 3 April
India v England 3 pm

Once again led by interim head coach Zak Jones, the men have themselves also been affected by both COVID-19 and injuries, so make a number of changes to their last squad for their previous Pro League games away to Argentina. Olympians Liam Ansell and Chris Griffiths are back, as well as exciting talent James Oates.

The games represent an exciting opportunity for the men’s team to be back in Bhubaneswar, having fond memories of the 2018 Men’s Hockey World Cup, and leading into the 2023 World Cup which will be held jointly there and in Rourkella.

They take on an Indian side fresh from their bronze medal at the Tokyo Olympics.


James Albery – Old Georgians
Liam Ansell – Wimbledon
Nick Bandurak – Holcombe
David Condon – Wimbledon
James Gall – Surbiton
David Goodfield – Surbiton
Chris Griffiths – Old Georgians
James Mazarelo (GK) – Loughborough Students
James Oates – Hampstead & Westminster
Nick Park – Surbiton
Ollie Payne (GK) – Holcombe
Liam Sanford – Old Georgians
Peter Scott – Wimbledon
Duncan Scott – Wimbledon
Rhys Smith – Wimbledon
Tom Sorsby – Surbiton
Sam Taylor – University of Exeter
Jack Turner – Wimbledon
Sam Ward – Old Georgians

Credit: englandhockey.co.uk