Kenya Hockey Union Names Whittled Down Men’s list for the National Team.

The Kenya Hockey Union (KHU) has whittled down the national men teams to 25 players each following the trials that have been ongoing in Nairobi, Kisumu, Mombasa and Kakamega for the past four months. The teams are preparing for the Africa Olympic qualifiers dubbed African Hockey Road to Paris 2024 (M/W) slated for Pretoria, South Africa from 29th October to 5th November, 2023.

The teams remain on non-residential training camp awaiting approval from the government to embark on residential camp in preparation for the qualifiers. The teams will further by reduced to 18 players each ahead of the qualifiers.

The squad includes 8 players from Western Jaguars, 6 from Butali, 3 from Kenya Police and USIU, 2 from Strathmore and 1 from Parkroad Badgers. The players have international caps from as low as the under 21 squad.

Below find the 25 players for each team and the team officials.

National Team Men


Silong played in Africa youth games 2018 in Algeria, Youth Olympic games in 2018 Ghana in Africa cup of Nations 2022 and Hockey 5s qualifers in Egypt 2022.

Joshua Omondi from Police will be making a debut into the National team. Oluga the 3rd goalkeeper on the list has played in the U21 Africa Junior cup. Abdala Oluga of Strathmore has 3 caps on him.

Samuel Silong (USIU)

Joshua Omondi (Kenya Police)

Abdala Oluga (Strathmore)


The defenders consists of one of the most experienced players on national duties Constant Wakhura with 32 caps on him for the country. This is followed by Robert Masibo with 17 caps. Mathias Gularie played for the U-21 national men’s squad and has now been moved up together with Charles Ashihundu of Western Jaguars and has 4 caps on him. Moses Muigai of Western Jaguars played for the inaugural Hockey 5s in December 2022 and has 5 caps.

Constant Wakhura (Butali)

Mathias Gularire (Pakroad Badgers)

Edson Ndombi (Western Jaguars)

Robert Masibo (Police)

Charles Ashihundu (Western Jaguars)

John Rioba (Wazalendo)

Moses Muigai (Western Jaguars)

Kennedy Munialo (Butali)


The midfield comprises of Allan Inungu with a total of 30 caps on him for the squad. This is followed by Francis Kariuki with 17 caps. Richard Njuki, Ivan Ludiali, Brian Ongeche and Emmanuel Wiswa have 7 Cliff Omari. Sheldon Kimutai come from the U-21 squad with 4 caps. He is remembered for scoring the lone goal against South Africa last year. Cliff Omari and James Muthii have 4 and 3 caps respectively.

Francis Kariuki (Butali) 17

Ivan Ludiali (W. Jaguars) 7 caps

Brian Ogenche (Strathmore) 7 caps

Sheldon Kimutai (W. Jaguars) U-21 teams scored the loan goal against SA in March with 4 caps.

Cliff Omari (Wazalendo) 4 caps

Allan Iningu (Butali) 30 caps

James Muthii (USIU) 3 caps

Richard Njuki (W.Jaguars) 7 caps

Emmanuel Wiswa (W.Jaguars) 7 caps


The forwards include Danston Wabwire and Festus Onyango with 17 caps, Moses Ademba who is remembered in South Africa 2019 by terrorizing them and has 5 caps. Titus Kimutai and Bethwel Masambu have 4 caps on them.

Danston Wabwire (USIU)

Festus Onyango (Butali)

Titus Kimutai (Police)

Bethwel Masambu (Western Jaguars)

Moses Ademba (Butali)

Team Officials Men

The technical team is led by Fidhelis Kimanzi who is the head coach and assisted by Michael Malungu who is his deputy. Joseph Osino is the coach for the goal keepers.

The technical team is led by Fidhelis Kimanzi who is the head coach and assisted by Michael Malungu who is his deputy. Joseph Osino is the coach for the goal keepers. Cyrus Kanyi is the Strength & Conditioning Coach while Wycliffe Ongori is the team manager.