SA Head coach Cheslyn Gie Names Men’s Hockey Squad Announced

South Africa head coach Head coach Cheslyn Gie has named the men’s hockey squad. The South African Hockey Men have a challenging 12-month period ahead. They will first attempt to qualify for the Paris Olympic Games at the African Hockey Road to Tokyo event in South Africa and should they qualify the Olympic Games. The team will also participate in the FIH Nations Cup 2024 as the defending champions in June 2024.

As a result, following the completion of the South African Hockey IPT the selectors have selected a squad of 32 players from which the squads for the above-mentioned tournaments, and any test series in that period will be selected.

The squad includes 11 of the Tokyo 2021 Olympic Games squad including Keenan Horne, Matt Guise-Brown and Dan Bell amongst others. Keenan Horne is the most experienced player in the team having represented the country on 106 occasions so far while at the other spectrum a couple of players will have the opportunity to earn their first test caps when called upon.

Several of the players that featured for the rotated SA Men’s team at the Azlan Shah trophy in 2022 could stake a claim for a regular inclusion going forward.

“We are delighted to be able to announce the squad that will take us through our next challenges. We are always looking to raise the bar and continue with the fine performances of the men’s team on the international stage. We believe we have a good group of players that we have identified that will allow us to achieve our goals over the next 12 months.”

Head coach Cheslyn Gie:

SA Men’s Hockey Squad 2023-24

Andrew Hobson19Dan Bell95Keenan Horne106Peabo Lembethe65
Anton van Loggerenberg9Dan Sibbald48Le-Neal Jackson34Ryan Julius68
Bili Ntuli92Dayaan Cassiem70Luke Wynford7Sam Mvimbi45
Brad Sherwood30Estiaan Kriek29Luthando Jonas6Siya Nolutshungu46
Chad Futcher9Fawaaz Kahder6Matt de Sousa35Tevin Kok58
Clayton Saker19Gowan Jones77Matt Guise-Brown56Trevor de Lora19
Connor Beauchamp37Guy Morgan11Mustapha Cassiem41Tumi Ramphele0
Dalpiarro Langford0Jacques van Tonder16Nic Spooner58Zenani Kraai6

Credit: SAHA Website